Do we have Hitler to thank for the iPhone 4S?

Today I was doing my usual trolling on Facebook.  It’s sort of a hobby of mine.  I have a close circle of friends who also ‘rib’ off each other, and some of the stuff is really quite creative.

Today I decided to post that magical quote from Wall Street, where Gordo Gekko does the whole “Greed, for want of a better word is good” speech.

Greed, for lack of a better word, is good. Greed is right, greed works. Greed clarifies, cuts through, and captures the essence of the evolutionary spirit. Greed, in all of its forms; greed for life, for money, for love, knowledge has marked the upward surge of mankind.

I posted it up, with the hope that some of my friends would start quoting Wall Street for the next few hours, we would all pat ourselves on the back for being so ‘hipster’ because we know where the quote comes from.  However, this isn’t what happened.

I have a friend who is quite left wing.  He thinks he is right wing, but really, he is as left as it goes.  His response to the quote:

think you will find competition and cooperation have more to do with upward surge of mankind…but there are arguments against that…go watch Age of stupid..lol

So, I decided to instigate Godwins Law by going straight to Hitler, in one punch.  I retorted with the following quip:

Hitlers greed for supremacy gave us the iPhone.

Quite clever I thought considering it’s still morning here in London.  He was writing from New Zealand in the late evening.  And has probably now gone to bed.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I was surprised that people don’t share my views.

WWII started the second largest industrial revolution that mankind has ever seen (the largest being the last dot com boom).  WWII (hence the Hitler reference) pushed our technology ahead at least twenty years.

Massive investments went into Radio (radar, antenna, power supplies), Computers (Alan Turing et al) and rushed in the age of the transistor only a few years later.

So, even though I was not being serious, I started thinking about how the greed of one man who killed and murdered many many people also gave me my nice shiny iPhone 4S (a leap-frog technological marvel).

Yesterday I was rummaging thru my old phones wondering if I should send them to the recycling or hold onto them as a piece of history (as I tend to do).  In one hand I had a Motorola Razor and in the other a copy of a book on programming them.

In my spare time, for fun, I write apps for iOS (iPhone/iPad/iTouch).  Ten years ago I had a small app development company writing software for the older generation of handsets, which we have now come to call ‘feature phones’.  Programming them was painful. The operating systems and libraries were full of bugs.  One phone didn’t work the same as the other phone (yes NOKIA I am talking about your handsets).  Today we use iOS from Apple/Next.  iOS itself is a technological marvel.  Beautiful in its design and simplicity.

I hated the past when phones didn’t work.  iPhones rock.

But as technological advancement hits critical mass and we speed towards the singularity I could not but stop and stare at the Motorola Razor and then feel for the iPhone 4S in my pocket and think, wow, I wouldn’t have had a chance to experience this technology if it wasn’t for World War II.  I would have missed it by twenty years.

Thanks Hitler.  You nut job.

About slushfundsupervisor

I work in the tech industry and have done for a long time. So, I have opinions. I like to share them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

